MTNA  |  MTNA Certification  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact Us

The MTNA Achievement Award, MTNA's highest honor, is bestowed upon an individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the music teaching profession.

Previous winners include:

Year Recipient
2019 Jane Magrath (Oklahoma)
2018 Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy (New Jersey)
2017 MusicLink Foundation (Virginia)
2016 Emanuel Ax (New York)
2015 John Perry (California)
2014 Byron Janis (New York)
2013 Morty and Iris Manus (California)
2012 Menahem Pressler (Indiana)
2011 Warren Jones (New York)
2010 Alan Walker (Ontario)
2009 Marvin Blickenstaff (Pennsylvania)
2008 Jean Barr (New York)
2007 Henry Z. Steinway (New York) and Marienne Uszler (California)
2006 Van Cliburn (Texas), Rildia Bee O'Bryan Cliburn (Texas-awarded posthumously) and Irl Allison (Texas-awarded posthumously)
2005 Louise Goss (New Jersey)
2004 Guy Duckworth (California) and Karl Bruhn (California)
2003 Robert Pace (New York)
2002 William Bolcom and Joan Morris(Mississippi), and Nelita True (New York)
2001 Joseph Brye (Pennsylvania) and Dave Brubeck (Connecticut)
2000 Leon Fleisher (Maryland)
1999 James and Jane Bastien (California)
1998 Richard Chronister (California)
1997 Ross Lee Finey (California)
1996 Robert Starer (New York) and Willard Palmer (Texas)
1994 Maurice Hinson (Kentucky)
1992 Wilfred Bain (Indiana) and Frances Clark (New Jersey)
1990 Baldwin Piano and Organ Co. (Cincinnati at the time, now Nashville, Tennessee)